Most people refuse to believe that they are slaves in the workplace. If you are doing the same thing over and over again and working in an environment that disallows them the ability to be and find their true potential then they are slaves.

Most of these individuals are purely unhappy about their work mainly because of the structures that they find themselves in that disallows them of being free of exploring and defining their talents.

The only thing that makes them stay longer than they should is because they believe things will change, and they think they can add value to things as they are. But what happens when they don’t change and work seems like a monotonous dream they didn’t imagine. For many of these individuals they are comforted by the illusion of the economic responsibilities that they handle and they feel obligated to stay than to leave and fulfil their inner being.

Don’t get me wrong employment is important and dissatisfaction is everywhere. But when you spend over 40 hours per week doing something that dissatisfies your true being then what meaning does employment mean? Of course they are financial dissatisfactions and satisfactions that either hides or reveal the scars of wage slavery. There is more to financial freedom

The thrill of waking up early in the morning way before your alarm does is what I’m talking about. The late nights of constructing and conceptualizing concepts or ideas to find the right solution that’s what I’m talking. when you feel torn when you have to go on leave because you so part of your work that nothing else matters, that what I’m talking about! 

The notion of being a slave doesn’t only work in instances where people are forced to do something out of their own will, but also of doing something of their own will that does not sit well with them.

This had me wondering especially in the times where the gift of life can end at any time. What value is life worth in my employment? Can I find myself in it? does my current work allow me to be me? am I capable of being the creative I believe I am within the structures put in place for me? too many questions and little answers…

In the end of our conversation one my friend said,

“If you lucky enough to find a work environment that allows you to express yourself within the structures without limiting your true self by all means embrace it. but if you can’t then find what does and chase after it.”

@mahume_speaker

